Search Results

All Members

Find by role
Find by expertise
Find by service

Silks

Tim Bishop QC
Call
1991
Silk
2011
020 7797 7070
bishop@1hc.com
  • A market leader in top-level financial cases on divorce
  • Habitually instructed by magic circle firms
  • Specialist in financial work for 20 years
  • Regularly appears in high-profile cases
Martin Pointer QC
Call
1976
Silk
1996
020 7797 7070
clerks@1hc.com

He specialises in what are known as “big money” cases, particularly those where there is an off-shore or international element or other aspects of complexity such as trusts or tax. He has appeared in a great number of the significant reported ancillary relief decisions in England in the course of the last 20 years.

Deborah Bangay QC
Call
1981
Silk
2006
020 7797 7070
djb@1hc.com
  • Financial Remedies
  • Jurisdiction disputes
  • Schedule 1 claims
  • Pre & post nuptial agreements
  • Inheritance claims    
Nigel Dyer QC
Call
1982
Silk
2006
020 7797 7070
dyer@1hc.com

Nigel is sought after by leading solicitors as being one of the foremost experts in financial remedy cases, particularly those which are complex and involve an international element.

Ann Hussey QC
Call
1981
Silk
2009
020 7797 7070
hussey@1hc.com

Ann specializes in high net worth divorce, separation and pre and post nuptial agreements.  She is instructed by husbands, wives and separating unmarried couples and also advises off shore asset holding entities.

Nicholas Cusworth QC
Call
1986
Silk
2009
020 7797 7070
cusworth@1hc.com

A top ranked matrimonial finance silk with an extensive practice in high net worth financial remedy cases, augmented with significant part-time judicial experience.

Richard Todd QC
Call
1988
Silk
2009
020 7797 7070
rtqc@1hc.com

Richard enjoys the unique distinction of having twice been made Chambers and Partners’ Family Law Silk of the Year. He won this in 2010 / 11 and again in 2013 / 14. He is also the only specialist matrimonial Silk, still in practice, to have been nominated for The Lawyer’s overall barrister of the year.

John Wilson QC
Call
1981
Silk
2011
020 7797 7070
jaw@1hc.com

John had a wide-ranging general civil and matrimonial practice before joining Hare Court in 2002.   Since joining chambers he has concentrated on financial remedy cases and cohabitation and family provision claims.

Katharine Davidson QC
Call
1987
Silk
2011
020 7797 7070
davidson@1hc.com

Kate’s particular area of expertise is complex, high value financial cases, often with international, corporate and/or trust elements.  She also undertakes private law children disputes, in particular applications for permission to remove children permanently from the jurisdiction.

Stephen Trowell QC
Call
1995
Silk
2015
020 7797 7070
trowell@1hc.com

Stephen’s work focusses on complex financial remedy cases and the linked jurisdictional issues.  His practice in silk is built on years of work at the highest level as a junior.

Justin Warshaw QC
Call
1995
Silk
2015
020 7797 7070
clerks@1hc.com

Justin was called to the Bar in 1995 after graduating from Christ Church, Oxford. Given “extensive praise for his skill in handling substantial financial remedy proceedings” (Chambers & Partners 2015), he is applauded as “a brilliant and polished advocate” (Chambers & Partners, 2014) and “a great tactician with huge compassion and patience” (Legal 500, 2014).

Geoffrey Kingscote QC
Call
1993
Silk
2017
020 7797 7070
Kingscote@1hc.com

Geoffrey specializes in financial remedy cases, including those involving pre nuptial agreements, offshore trusts and complex business structures.

Juniors

Nicholas Carden
Call
1981
020 7797 7070
carden@1hc.com

Nicholas has practised as a family law barrister for over 30 years. He is experienced in every type of case.

Gavin Smith
Call
1981
020 7797 7070
smith@1hc.com

Gavin Smith has over 25 years’ experience as a specialist family law barrister, dealing with all types of financial remedy proceedings following relationship breakdown.

Christopher Wood
Call
1986
020 7797 7070
wood@1hc.com

Christopher’s practice consists mainly of complex financial claims, involving companies, farms, offshore trusts, and conflicts of law.

Elisabeth Todd
Call
1990
020 7797 7070
etodd@1hc.com

Elisabeth undertook her pupillage at Pump Court Tax chambers and 7 New Square (Messrs Justices Vinelott and Rattee as now are).  Elisabeth sits as a Deputy District Judge in London and the South East dealing with civil and matrimonial cases.

Nichola Gray
Call
1991
020 7797 7070
gray@1hc.com

Nichola has 25 years’ experience specialising in the field of matrimonial finance.

Nicholas Yates
Call
1996
020 7797 7070
yates@1hc.com

Nicholas was called to the Bar in 1996 after graduating from Trinity College, Cambridge. He has represented a number of well-known celebrities, captains of industry and others in the public eye.

Simon Webster
Call
1997
020 7797 7070
webster@1hc.com

Principal practice is focused on large and complex financial remedy claims, often with international elements and often with cross-border jurisdiction issues.

Rebecca Carew Pole
Call
1999
020 7797 7070
carewpole@1hc.com

Rebecca is a leading senior junior specialising in complex financial remedies disputes. Rebecca has been described as a “punchy, no-holds barred advocate with razor sharp intelligence” [Legal 500]

 

Emma Sumner
Call
1999
020 7797 7070
sumner@1hc.com

Since being called to the bar in 1999, Emma has risen to the top tiers of the private matrimonial finance bar. Her cases often include corporate, trust and international elements and she regularly appears on behalf of high net worth individuals who are involved in the areas of finance, law, sport and business.

Professor Rebecca Bailey-Harris
Call
2000
020 7797 7070
bailey-harris@1hc.com

Rebecca was formerly an academic lawyer with positions including Foundation Professor and Dean of Law at the Flinders University of South Australia 1991 – 1994 and Professor of Law at the University of Bristol 1994 -2005 where she also served as Dean of the Faculty of Law. Professor Emerita, University of  Bristol from 2005.

Eleanor Harris
Call
2000
020 7797 7070
harris@1hc.com

Eleanor’s practice covers all areas of private family law including the full spectrum of financial remedies cases, relationship agreements, cohabitation claims, family violence and private law children work.

Tom Carter
Call
2001
020 7797 7070
carter@1hc.com

Tom’s practice is predominantly centred on financial remedies, cohabitation disputes, pre-nuptial agreements and Schedule 1 claims.

Rachel Spicer
Call
2002
020 7797 7070
spicer@1hc.com

Rachel practices in all aspects of family law but specialises in complex financial remedy cases. She is happy to provide advice and/or representation at all stages of proceedings, including with respect to drafting pre-nuptial and separation agreements.

 

Christian Kenny
Call
2003
020 7797 7070
kenny@1hc.com

Christian practises in all areas of private family law and is ranked as a leading barrister by the legal directories, described as “always brilliantly prepared and unruffled” and “approachable, knowledgeable and helpful” (Chambers and Partners 2016).

Jude Allen
Call
2004
020 7797 7070
allen@1hc.com

Jude is an experienced and thorough financial remedies practitioner and is also proficient in private law children work. She has a particular expertise and interest in Schedule 1 cases (including where these combine with cohabitant claims under TLATA) and is the author of the chapter on financial provision for children in the new edition of Rayden & Jackson on Family Matters.

Richard Sear
Call
2005
020 7797 7070
clerks@1hc.com

Richard has been described by the Legal 500 as “a fantastic junior and a silk in the making”. He practises in all areas of private family law and tends to be instructed in complex financial cases and jurisdiction disputes, both with and against leading counsel.

 

Amelia Sugden
Call
2006
020 7797 7070
clerks@1hc.com

Specialist in all areas of family law, in particular private law Children Act matters and domestic violence.

Nicholas Wilkinson
Call
2006
020 7797 7070
wilkinson@1hc.com

Nicholas, described in Chambers & Partners as “excellent”, conducts high net worth financial remedy claims and has been led by most of the silks at 1 Hare Court.

Katherine Cook
Call
2007
020 7797 7070
cook@1hc.com

Katherine is ranked as a leading barrister by the legal directories where she is described as "definitely the right person to go to when you're trying to settle” and “very calm under pressure” (Chambers and Partners 2017). Her practice covers all areas of private family law, with a focus on complex financial remedy work.

Matthew Brunsdon Tully
Call
2007
020 7797 7070
mbt@1hc.com

Although Matthew primarily specialises in financial remedies litigation, with particular experience and enjoyment of trial advocacy, he is commonly instructed to advise and represent clients with issues spanning the whole spectrum of family law.

Madhavi Kabra
Call
2008
020 7797 7070
mk@1hc.com

Madhavi is a specialist family law advocate. Her practice encompasses Financial Remedy proceedings, Private Children matters, Domestic Violence and Cohabitants’ disputes.

Kyra Cornwall
Call
2011
020 7797 7070
cornwall@1hc.com

Kyra specialises in financial remedies, cohabitation disputes, private law children work, nuptial agreements and jurisdiction disputes.

Lily Mottahedan
Call
2011
020 7797 7070
mottahedan@1hc.com

Lily specialises in financial remedies, jurisdiction and/or forum disputes, declarations of marital status (e.g. marriage/non-marriage and recognition of foreign divorces), relationship agreements, private children law and cohabitation disputes. Her cases often include an international element.

Joshua Viney
Call
2013
020 7797 7070
viney@1hc.com

Joshua is a specialist in financial remedies, TOLATA and private law children work. He appears in the High Court regularly against opponents of all seniority; many of his cases are of an international nature.

Thomas Harvey
Call
2013
020 7797 7070
harvey@1hc.com

Thomas is instructed across the full spectrum of matrimonial finance and private law children matters. He has a particular interest in cases involving agreements between parties, having co-written the Rayden and Jackson chapter on agreements with Nicholas Cusworth QC.

Ben Wooldridge
Call
2013
020 7797 7070
wooldridge@1hc.com

Ben has a broad family practice and accepts instructions to appear in all stages of financial remedy proceedings and private law children matters.

Samuel Littlejohns
Call
2014
020 7797 7070
clerks@1hc.com

Sam’s practice is focused on the full range of financial remedy hearings and applications, but he is equally comfortable and experienced handling private law children matters.

James Webb
Call
2015
020 7797 7070
webb@1hc.com

James's practice encompasses all areas of private family law, with an emphasis on financial remedies, private children matters. TOLATA claims and domestic abuse.

Georgina Howitt
Call
2016
020 7797 7070
howitt@1hc.com

Associate Members

The Rt Hon Sir Mathew Thorpe
020 7797 7070
clerks@1hc.com

Sir Mathew Thorpe has returned as an Associate Member to our Chambers, from which (in its previous form) he practised as Mathew Thorpe QC before his appointment to the Family Division in 1988.

Sir Peter Singer
020 7797 7070
clerks@1hc.com
His Honour Michael Horowitz QC
020 7797 7070
clerks@1hc.com

On his retirement from the Circuit Bench, Michael Horowitz has returned as an Associate Member of the Chambers in which he practiced as a Junior from 1972 and as a QC from 1990 until his appointment as a Judge in 2004. Michael is now available through Chambers to accept instructions to conduct private Financial Dispute Resolution meetings alongside financial disputes proceedings in English family Courts as well early neutral evaluation.

Bruce Blair QC
Call
1969
Silk
1989
020 7797 7070
blair@1hc.com

Bruce was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 1989 and was Head of Chambers at 1, Hare Court for 10 years between 1997 and 2007.  He has specialised in family law, in particular heavy financial remedy cases, for over 40 years, during which he has appeared in numerous leading and complex cases, many of them reported.  He also conducts private FDRs and arbitrations.

Michael Nicholls QC
Call
1975
Silk
2006
020 7797 7070
nicholls@1hc.com

English, European and Australian family matters involving marriage, divorce and children, including jurisdiction, recognition and enforcement of orders, conflicts of laws, status of children, surrogacy arrangements, child abduction, relocation and other parenting disputes.

Heather Pope
Call
1977
020 7797 7070
clerks@1hc.com

Called to the Bar in 1977, Practised in all areas of Family Law, but specialised in Childcare Law, both public and private.

Joanna Miles
020 7797 7070

Joanna Miles is Senior University Lecturer in Law at the University of Cambridge, where she is also Director of Studies and Fellow in Law at Trinity College; she was previously a College Lecturer at Christ Church and Lincoln College in Oxford. She joined 1 Hare Court as an Academic Door Tenant in 2011.

Clerks

Steve McCrone
020 7797 7070
steve@1hc.com

Senior Clerk

As senior clerk, Steve has overall responsibility for the strategic management, development and marketing of all members of chambers. In addition to the day to day clerking duties, he also provides clients with advice on suitable counsel with regard to seniority, suitability and fees at all levels.

Michael Lay
02077977070
mike@1hc.com

First Junior Clerk

Together with his colleagues, he is responsible for the management and development of the Barristers practices. He has the day to day overall responsibility for negotiating and billing the Barristers work, assigning cases and diary management, as well as assisting with other aspects of Chambers Management.

Daniel Barnett
020 7797 7070
daniel@1hc.com

Second Junior Clerk

Dan joined Chambers in 1998 and, along with his colleagues, is responsible for the management and development of members’ practices.

James Collier
020 7797 7070
james@1hc.com

Third Junior Clerk

Together with the other clerks, James is responsible for general diary management of all members as well as the fixing of cases. In addition, James is also our designated Dispute Resolution clerk in Chambers dealing with all enquiries regarding Arbitration, Mediation and Early Neutral Evaluations/Private FDR’s.

Callum Davison
020 7797 7070
callum@1hc.com

Junior clerk

Callum joined chambers in May 2013. He assists with diary management, fixing of cases and day to day duties within chambers.

Maxwell Brian
020 7797 7070
Max@1hc.com

Junior clerk

Max joined Chambers in 2015 and is responsible for taking papers to and from court, lodging of documents and assisting in the clerks’ room.

Jack Mallon
020 7797 7070
clerks@1hc.com

Junior clerk

Toni Johnstone